Skip to content
Merthyr Tydfil Counts — Merthyr Tydfil, in numbers.Local help →

Merthyr Tydfil, in numbers

People and living standards

Merthyr Tydfil council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Merthyr Tydfil council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 59,594 in 1991 to 58,362 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Merthyr Tydfil council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 58,132 people in 1996; 58,362 people in 2025. 0.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Merthyr Tydfil council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199159,594
199259,764
199359,517
199459,346
199558,658
199658,132
199757,371
199857,148
199956,516
200056,218
200156,207
200255,996
200355,955
200456,020
200556,259
200656,627
200757,173
200857,688
200958,156
201058,493
201158,851
201258,869
201358,791
201458,859
201558,922
201659,247
201759,337
201859,349
201959,255
202059,194
202158,869
202258,866
202358,735
202458,722
202558,362
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Merthyr Tydfil council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,241 people in 1996; 10,816 people in 2025. 18.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Merthyr Tydfil council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,199
199213,403
199313,493
199413,579
199513,459
199613,241
199713,009
199812,838
199912,540
200012,323
200112,018
200211,767
200311,617
200411,493
200511,423
200611,245
200711,181
200811,184
200911,122
201010,973
201110,969
201210,995
201310,966
201410,955
201510,988
201611,087
201711,198
201811,306
201911,245
202011,253
202111,143
202211,157
202311,086
202411,023
202510,816
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Merthyr Tydfil council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 35,478 people in 1996; 35,805 people in 2025. 0.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Merthyr Tydfil council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199136,709
199236,698
199336,454
199436,275
199535,757
199635,478
199735,068
199835,088
199934,865
200034,885
200135,130
200235,210
200335,279
200435,396
200535,687
200636,176
200736,699
200837,145
200937,493
201037,777
201138,026
201237,757
201337,521
201437,380
201537,296
201637,347
201737,196
201836,985
201936,829
202036,756
202136,554
202236,482
202336,239
202436,122
202535,805
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Merthyr Tydfil council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 9,413 people in 1996; 11,741 people in 2025. 24.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Merthyr Tydfil council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19919,686
19929,663
19939,570
19949,492
19959,442
19969,413
19979,294
19989,222
19999,111
20009,010
20019,059
20029,019
20039,059
20049,131
20059,149
20069,206
20079,293
20089,359
20099,541
20109,743
20119,856
201210,117
201310,304
201410,524
201510,638
201610,813
201710,943
201811,058
201911,181
202011,185
202111,172
202211,227
202311,410
202411,577
202511,741
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 58,839 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Merthyr Tydfil · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh8711.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African910.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups5100.9%
White57,14097.1%
Other ethnic group2270.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 58,802 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Merthyr Tydfil · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White57,39197.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4620.8%
Asian/Asian British6961.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1430.2%
Other ethnic group1100.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 55,981 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Merthyr Tydfil · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White55,41799%
Mixed1350.2%
Asian/Asian British2690.5%
Black/Black British410.1%
Chinese/Other1190.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 22.1% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Merthyr Tydfil council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,006 per person in 1997; £20,222 per person in 2024. 152.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Merthyr Tydfil council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,006
19987,836
19998,233
20009,047
20019,765
200210,272
200310,567
200411,280
200511,762
200611,970
200712,286
200812,656
200912,503
201012,540
201112,601
201213,111
201313,524
201413,887
201514,378
201614,337
201714,910
201815,253
201915,226
202015,593
202116,053
202217,040
202318,724
202420,222
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Merthyr Tydfil council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -24.5% in 1997; -22.1% in 2024. 2.4 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Merthyr Tydfil council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-24.5
1998-27.6
1999-27.2
2000-24
2001-21.1
2002-18.8
2003-18.9
2004-16.9
2005-16.3
2006-18.3
2007-19.9
2008-19.6
2009-21.9
2010-22.4
2011-22.7
2012-22.4
2013-22.8
2014-23.2
2015-24.4
2016-25.5
2017-24.3
2018-25.3
2019-27.7
2020-25.7
2021-26.5
2022-25.8
2023-23.4
2024-22.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

53.8%

21 March 2021 · Merthyr Tydfil council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

26.5%

21 March 2021 · Merthyr Tydfil council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

26.9%

21 March 2021 · Merthyr Tydfil council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

9.3%

21 March 2021 · Merthyr Tydfil council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£157,000

July 2026 · Merthyr Tydfil council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£754

August 2026 · Merthyr Tydfil council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.